What is the CMA Course?

KC Academy: The Best CMA Coaching Institute in India.

[CMA Course: Full Form, Details, Fees, Eligibility, Duration & Syllabus and Career Scope ]

CMA Course Information | CMA Full Form | The Full Form of CMA is Cost & Management Accountant. 

1- What is the CMA Course?

The CMA Course is a professional certification program for accountants and finance professionals who work in management accounting and financial management. CMA stands for Cost & Management Accountant. The CMA Course is offered by the Institute of Cost & Management Accountants of India (ICMAI) in India. The CMA Course consists of three levels: Foundation, Intermediate and Final. The CMA Course covers topics such as financial planning, performance and analytics, strategic financial management, cost and management accounting, taxation, auditing, business laws and ethics. The CMA Course is recognised worldwide and holds a high level of credibility in the field of management accounting. The CMA Course can help candidates to pursue lucrative careers in various sectors such as manufacturing, banking, consulting, IT, education, healthcare, etc. The average salary for a Cost & Management Accountant in India ranges between INR 16 LPA - 23 LPA. 

2 - Eligibility Criteria for CMA:

The eligibility criteria for CMA depends on the level of the course you want to pursue. There are three levels of CMA: Foundation, Intermediate and Final. Here is a brief overview of the eligibility criteria for each level:

- **Foundation**: 

You need to have passed class 10 or equivalent from a recognized board or institution. You also need to have passed class 12 or equivalent in any stream, or have a diploma in commerce or rural service from a recognized body.

- **Intermediate**: 

You need to have passed the Foundation course of CMA, or have a bachelor's degree or equivalent in any discipline (except fine arts). You can also qualify if you have passed the foundation of ICSI or intermediate of ICAI, or the CAT examination of the institute.

- **Final**:

You need to have passed the Intermediate course of CMA, and have completed the practical training and orientation program as prescribed by the institute.

3- CMA Exam Structure/Level : There are three levels of CMA: Foundation, Intermediate and Final. Each level has different papers, each paper has 100 marks, and each paper has a mix of objective and descriptive questions. The exam duration for each paper is 3 hours. There is no negative marking for wrong answers. The exam mode is offline-centre based.

Foundation course 

The Foundation course of CMA comprises the following 4 Subjects or four papers, each of 100 marks. 

Paper 1: Fundamentals of Business Laws and Business Communication (FBLC)

Paper 2: Fundamentals of Financial and Cost Accounting (FFCA)

Paper 3: Fundamentals of Business Mathematics and Statistics (FBMS)

Paper 4: Fundamentals of Business Economics and Management (FBEM) 

Intermediate Course 

The intermediate course of CMA comprises two groups. Each group contains four papers, each paper of 100 marks.

Group I 

Paper 5: Business Laws and Ethics (BLE)

Paper 6: Financial Accounting (FA)

Paper 7: Direct & Indirect Taxation (DITX)

Paper 8: Cost Accounting (CA) 

Group II 

Paper 9: Operations Management & Strategic Management (OMSM) 

Paper 10: Corporate Accounting and Auditing (CAA)

Paper 11: Financial Management & Business Data Analytics (FMDA)

Paper 12: Management Accounting (MA)

Final Course 

The final course of CMA comprises two groups. Each group contains four papers, each paper of 100 marks. Group I 

Paper 13: Corporate and Economic Laws (CEL)

Paper 14: Strategic Financial Management (SFM) 

Paper 15: Direct Tax Laws and International Taxation (DIT)

Paper 16: Strategic Cost Management (SCM)

Group II 

Paper 17: Cost and Management Audit (CMAD)

Paper 18: Corporate Financial Reporting (CFR)

Paper 19: Indirect Tax Laws and Practice (ITLP)

Paper 20: Elective out of following three:

20A: Strategic Performance Management and Business Valuation (SPMBV)

20B: Risk Management in Banking and Insurance (RMBI)

20C: Entrepreneurship and Startup (ENTS)